Home | About Us | Subscriptions | Advertising | El Centinela
Catholic Sentinel | Portland, OR Tuesday, August 30, 2016

cyo champions of faith 2017

Home : Viewpoints : Letters  
Each can act
A friend gave me a copy of “Milligrams of mercy” by Patricia Matteri (July 1, page 18). It was a timely gift. National events threaten to overwhelm our best intentions and our own acts of mercy.
Sunday, August 21, 2016

Gives me focus
These gestures help me get back in focus. Having all members of the Mass standing in union, facing the table of sacrifice and the tabernacle will send a powerful message.
Saturday, August 20, 2016
Share your faith?
How many of us have thought to question anything about our faith and how we share it with Natalie and our other sisters and brothers beyond our freshman year?
Friday, August 19, 2016
Route to holiness?
We are clearly out of grace, but why? Perhaps  it’s “the universal call to holiness.”
Thursday, August 18, 2016
How do we question well?
How many of us have thought to question anything about our faith and how we share it with Natalie and our other sisters and brothers? beyond our freshman year?
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
May I buy one?
Loved the article about Philomena Durcan and her art. Are her quilts for sale anywhere? Well, no.
Friday, August 5, 2016
Find new angles
God may believe in punishment, but by no means believes in punishment by execution.
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Outside their normal sphere
I am glad these young ladies did learn about something outside of their normal sphere of life.
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Most important
It is a good reminder to focus on the most important thing of life, our relationship with Christ.
Monday, July 25, 2016
Good memory
Heather Renshaw’s excellent article “Understanding the Power of No,” (June 17, page 22) was informative, enlightening, cautionary, and telltale as well.
Saturday, July 23, 2016
Inform us
The Sentinel’s excellent coverage of international and Vatican news is of great interest to me.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Stand for love
We also stand for love for Muslims. We stand for love for our gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered brothers and sisters. We stand for love for Latinos, Native Americans and all people of color. We stand for love for the incarcerated. We stand for love. Pure and simple.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
There is a demagogue
If it can happen in the Philippines, it can happen here.
Thursday, July 14, 2016
It was a vocation
Thank you for the excellent story (June 17, pg. 9) on Debilyn Janota, our outgoing principal here at Queen of Peace School in Salem.
Monday, July 11, 2016
Rediscover peace
An encyclical reexamining the church’s social teaching on nonviolence and the just war theory could be just what we Catholics need as an antidote to this election year’s rhetoric and actions of violence and hate.
Saturday, July 9, 2016
You see big picture
The need for support after a baby is born is also a pro-life issue.
Friday, July 8, 2016
Good shepherd
I have just reread Archbishop Sample’s column “Rejoice! But in suffering?” (June 17, pg. 2) He is such a good and holy shepherd.
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Hate not holy
We must mourn our dead while working for a more peaceful America. Americans should not have to fear violence in our schools, houses of worship, malls, nightclubs or movie theaters.
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Guilt understood
The best punchline I’ve read in ages was hers — about the Catholic mom in a minivan. Too funny!
Friday, June 24, 2016
It never faded
The Anglican Church has swung back and forth between Catholic and Protestant over the centuries. The Catholic world never faded away in England, neither in the Anglican Church nor in the vestiges of the Roman Catholic Church there.
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Good balance
We need preachers who teach the fullness of our Catholic faith, balancing truth and mercy, which Father Brian has done and continues to do so well.
Tuesday, June 21, 2016


Advanced Search






News | Viewpoints | Faith & Spirituality | Parish and School Life | Entertainment | Obituaries | Find Churches and Schools | About Us | Subscriptions | Advertising
E-Newsletter | RSS Feeds

© 2016 Catholic Sentinel, a service of Oregon Catholic Press

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved