Blanchet School photo
The Blanchet class of 2012.  
Blanchet School photo
The Blanchet class of 2012.

SALEM — Blanchet Catholic School is proud of its class of 2012. The 65 seniors will receive diplomas during commencement ceremonies, set for 2 p.m. Saturday, June 9 at the school. A baccalaureate Mass begins at 7 p.m. Friday, June 8 at St. Joseph Church in Salem.

This year, the school honors two valedictorians and four salutatorians.

Valedictorian Tori Hittner has a 4.0 grade-point average and is a 2012 National Merit Scholarship finalist. She has been named to the all-league team in track and basketball and is involved in business club, National Honor Society, spirituality team and campus ambassadors. Hittner will attend Baylor University next fall.

Valedictorian Dan Smith has a 4.0 GPA and is student body president, National Honor Society president, a member of the Friends of Benedictine service club, business club, campus ambassadors, strength training club and Science Olympiad.

He plays on Blanchet’s varsity golf team and was captain of the basketball team and an All-League Honorable Mention offensive lineman in football. Smith plans to attend the University of Denver to study finance.

Blanchet’s four salutatorians share a 3.994 GPA.

Bret Brandner is Blanchet’s National Honor Society secretary. He and two other seniors coordinated a year-long project to clean up Salem’s Bush Pasture Park. Brandner plans to attend Chemeketa Community College and then transfer to Oregon State University to study physics.

Katelyn Ditzler is president of the DECA business club and is a state champion and five-time national qualifier. She is a member of the cross country team, student council, National Honor Society, spirituality team, Science Olympiad, Friends of Benedictine service club and campus ambassadors. Ditzler plans to attend the University of Washington to study bioengineering.

Sarah Darst is a member of student council and DECA, where she serves as a chapter officer and has been a national competitor. Darst was co-captain of the varsity basketball team and was an All Conference Honorable Mention. She plans to attend Oregon State University Honors College and will major in biology.

Elizabeth Moore participates in cross country, swimming and drama and is a member of the spirituality team, Earth Club and National Honor Society. She is active in DECA and was a 2011 state champion and four-time national qualifier. She will attend Oregon State University Honors College next fall.

Here are the graduates: Megan Angstrom, Alexandra Binam, William Bizon, Bret Brandner, Caitlyn Buswell, Alyson Butterfield, Zachary Carey, Nuria Castro-Martinez, Timothy Coen, Madeleine Coleman, Matthew Creagan, Sarah Darst, Katelyn Ditzler, Sara Duncan, Lauren Eliason, Charlotte Fish, Chu Ting Gao, Myrrha-Alexis Garcia, Thomas Giruc, Jacob Goodspeed, Melissa Goyins, Melissa Hager, Clarissa Hayes, Victoria Hittner, Claire Hockett, Madeline Hoy, Khang Huynh, Kyung Hun Jung, Alycia Korn, Jong-Hyuk Lee, Yangmengyan Li, Natalie Lieurance, Rose Lustbader, Kaitlin MacIsaac, Carmen Martinez, Nathaniel McArthur, Megan McCarthy, Victoria McHugh, Elizabeth Moore, Michelle Moreno, Lam Nguyen, Julie Nibler, Trent Peerenboom, Zachariah Pelley, Thomas Plata, Alyssa Pollard, Xiaokai Qu, Anna Rehder, Jordan Ruiz, Alexander Rupp, Bianca Russell, Andrew Sampang, Ricki Santibanez, Daniel Smith, Jackson Smith, Morgan Spear, Michelle Stensen, James Taaffe, Katie Taylor, Laurina Tea-Pelley, Sonja Tokarski, Alexa Weathers, Chengzhi Yang, Ming Yu Yang, Chiyu Zhe